FirstPROOF Reviews

We’ve been selling FirstPROOF for so many years that we’ve pretty much stopped receiving testimonials. so the lack of any recent ones below doesn’t mean we’ve stopped developing it. In fact quite the opposite – we continue to invest in prepress soft-proofing R&D, adding new tools & features that customers request. As clear evidence of that, the latest version 6.2r9 was released in January 2017 and we’re close to releasing a major upgrade (with full 64-bit support and a native Cocoa user interface on the Mac) .

In fact the greatest testimonial we can offer you is the fact that over the last 15+ years we have sold a significant number of licenses, with many thousands of end users worldwide now using FirstPROOF appreciating everything that it does for them and their business. If you try it, we hope you enjoy using it and benefit from it too!

Here’s what some of our early customers had to say about FirstPROOF.

[FirstPROOF is] an excellent upgrade for Harlequin workflows, … to my knowledge [FirstPROOF is] one of the best and most cost-effective [workflow upgrades] on the market

Srdjan Vukovic

Owner, Application doo, Serbia

June 2008

FirstPROOF has been an extremely handy tool and has saved our bacon a number of times.

Lionel Broadley

CEO, Colony Printing, Australia

March 2008

With the volume of pages being processed at Toowoomba it is an absolute necessity. Having it as a check in the process saves an awful lot of time, as well as materials, by being able to identify a potential problem prior to actual film output. Prior to the installation of FirstProof, if the platemakers did not identify problems on film or plate, it was either printed wrong, or caused delays in printing. Both of these scenarios cost in credits and/or added costs through delay. With the imminent installation of CTP technology, the importance of FirstProof becomes paramount.

Peter Moat

Advertising Services Manager, Toowoomba Chronicle, Australia

February 2006

As APN changes it’s printing facilities progressively to CTP some type of checking the output from the rips became necessary. As the cost of plates is many times more than film, with impositions of up to 8 pages and the increase of completed pages coming in, the margin for error has grown considerably. Firstproof gives us the ability to check all the plates before we send the files to the CTP avoiding plate wastage.

Don Peterson

Editorial Systems Manager, APN News and Media, Australia

January 2006

Over the last 3 years APN News and Media Regional Newspapers have rolled out new page pagination and tracking systems. With this process at some site’s came the move from Agfa Avantra 25 film imaging devices to CTP. As we could no longer check negatives we went in search of an alternative means to do these final checks. We chose Firstproof for a number of reasons. Some of these are, there is no major underlying infrastructure required, the price, and functionality.
Due to the success of Firstproof at the CTP enabled sites we have now installed Firstproof at the sites using Avantra 25 image setters as well. Firstproof is much more accurate that checking negatives. Our press downtime due to imaging errors has decreased by at least 50%, which is quite a considerable amount of money.

Steve Tempest

APN News and Media, Australia

January 2006

Just to let you know that I’ve downloaded FirstProof Standard off your site and installed it on the Mac. It works perfectly under Tiger, and I’ve activated it as you previously advised, using the version 1.5 code.
Thanks for letting me know about the upgrade, and also particularly about how to compensate for colours on screen, to give a more accurate preview for 4-colour work.
Once again, thanks for supplying the best technical support I’ve ever used – someone who cares about the products they make and the customers who use them!

Mark Norris

The Christadelphian, UK

August 2005

A must have for anyone serious about their work!

Lorin Tremblay

CEO, Compo Art, Canada

August 2005

What can I say about FirstPROOF; if I had to discard its incredible speed of viewing (1 bit files) and its great measuring tool for automatic measurement of screens (frequencies and angles), I would still have the ability to print. This feature alone brings us a whole new range of possibilities, and at the same time puts FirstPROOF on a par with other, significantly more expensive solutions on the market.
Version 3.0 is the most important FirstPROOF release to date, and with each new release, we are more and more happy that we recognized the potential that there was from Hamillroad when we started off with version 1.0.

Marko Rakar

CEO, Printel, Zagreb, Croatia

August 2005

As a longtime FirstPROOF user I am amazed at the features of the newest version. It has incorporated all of our wish list items and some even we hadn’t thought of. This version truly is a complete prepress tool. My prepress department now has all of the tools necessary to have complete confindence in the files they send to plate. A few of the features even help us with our pressroom now that we can see ink coverage, total ink densities and dot gain. Kudos to Hamillroad!

Scott Vaughan

Prepress Manager, Kase Printing, Hudson, NH, USA

July 2005

We (Sp Group) have used FirstPROOF as part of our workflow for the last 2 years, it provides a client interface to our Harlequin Rips and gives us the ability to perform intricate and detailed checks of files just prior to output. The new features of Version 3, including the ability to print a hard copy from the actual ripped file, is another great addition to the tools available in FirstPROOF. FirstPROOF makes the solid base of Harlequin a much more user friendly and intuitive Rip to use. FirstPROOF is an essential part of our workflow.

Nick Stevens

Technical Director, SP Group, Birmingham, UK

July 2005

FirstPROOF v3.0 is the most feature rich previewer I have ever used.

Pat Berger

Mercer Color, USA

July 2005

We have been using FirstPROOF since it was first released and every subsequent release has brought more exciting and essential functionality. The release of FirstPROOF Plus has had a drastic impact on our profitability with mistakes being picked up sooner and a drastic reduction in proofing material used, so much so that the savings are paying for our new VLF Flexographic Platesetter. The latest release of Plus is once again a giant leap forwards and I would urge any quality conscious shop to spend some time using it and really give it a try.

Gavin Jones

Technical Director, Syreline Process, Cape Town, South Africa

November 2004

I really like the new IDG Tool in FirstPROOF [Plus] v2.1, especially when checking jobs that include stochastic (HDS) screening. With this tool we are now able to accurately soft-proof RIPped data prior to output on our CtP machine, and see exactly what we are going to get from a printers perspective. This is the very first time that a soft-proof on a monitor will actually show your page more accurately than any other digital hard-proofing method.

Marko Rakar

CEO, Printel, Zagreb, Croatia

November 2004

We have tried various SoftPROOFing products since we introduced CtP in 2001, but the moment we saw a demo of FirstPROOF, we knew that this was something worth watching carefully.
FirstPROOF has proven itself to be a really solid product which works with all the TIFF file formats and compression schemes that we use, something that most of the previous products that we tried were not able to do. It includes a very powerful File Naming Filter that is really easy to use and this has allowed us to automatically recombine 1bit Tiff files back into jobs regardless of the naming scheme that we have used.
The best feature however is FirstPROOF’s speed which is many times faster than any of the other applications that we have previously used. If we add this to the list of other features including zoom and rotation tools (we were unable to rotate our files before), navigator window, 1D and 2D measurement tools and a powerful color manager for assigning colors to individual separations, what we have is a really powerful application.
FirstPROOF has helped us increase our productivity by speeding up the last minute checking of our 1bit Tiff files and the Ink Limit warning tool has helped us pinpoint errors and possible problems on the press before we even imaged the plates! This feature alone has helped to pay off the investment in FirstPROOF with just a few rescued jobs.

Marko Rakar

CEO, Printel, Zagreb, Croatia

February 2004

As a large supplier of Flexographic plates to the South African printing industry we have learned time and time again how costly mistakes can be, a concern that has been raised by our move to CTP. The first time that we saw a demo of FirstPROOF, we knew there and then that we had found the answer to our problems.
Once we decided to implement it, there was some initial resistance from the operators mainly due to the fact that it is new technology but once they saw the benefits it brought to our company; it was quickly accepted as part of the family.
The extensive range of tools and features in FirstPROOF Plus coupled with its speed and ease of use have made it an indispensable component in our Harlequin Workflow so much so that we are currently busy installing it on every production machine in our company.
As far as the cost of installing FirstPROOF goes, we recovered the cost of our investment in hours and it more than pays for itself over and over on a daily basis.
I guess that all I can say is that it is one of those applications that once you have it you wonder how you ever lived without it.

Gavin Jones

Technical Director, Syreline Process, Cape Town, South Africa

February 2004

Since we have been using FirstPROOF, there has been a significant reduction in errors in jobs on our press. The ability to roam jobs accurately using FirstPROOF has given our company an advantage in saving materials and reduced down time on our press. FirstPROOF is a definite plus in any environment that outputs files for imaging or printing. This product is definately a worthwhile investment for any company needing a good first line proofing system.

Kevin Hanmer

Virtual Colour, Cape Town, South Africa

July 2003

We have installed FirstPROOF on every workstation in our studio, Macs and PCs. The licenses paid for themselves in a matter of weeks in saved materials and time. Anyone with a pre-press background will love this software. It is also an excellent pre-flight tool. I cannot think of a more cost effective, simple and reliable way to improve pre-press efficiency.

Andrew Kinnear

Pre-Press Manager, York City Printers, York, England

July 2003